Bojangles franchise: SBA loans
The loans are loans to franchise owners. The page gives totals for the brand and no data about a franchise owner.
- Approvals since FY2010
- 56
- Approvals, FY2021 to FY2025
- 11
- Average approval, FY2021 to FY2025
- $1.8M
- Main industry group
- Restaurants and Other Eating Places (NAICS 7225)
SBA lists 56 loan approvals for the franchise brand Bojangles since FY2010, worth $66.1M. 11 of them are in FY2021 to FY2025.
In FY2025 the brand had 3 approvals. In FY2024 the brand had 0. The average approval in FY2021 to FY2025 was $1.8M.
EXEMPT = The status of loans that have been disbursed but have not been cancelled, paid in full, or charged off are exempt from disclosure under FOIA Exemption 4
SBA's words. Source: U.S. Small Business Administration, 7(a) and 504 FOIA Data Dictionary, copied on .
In plain words: SBA does not disclose the status of a loan that is disbursed and not paid in full or charged off. A loan outcome describes a loan. It says nothing about the quality of a brand. The SBA file gives approvals to .
Since the last SBA file: no change is on record for this brand. The newest file gives approvals to . SBA files and changes
Loans by fiscal year
FY2016 to FY2026Approvals and gross approval amount by federal fiscal year. FY2025 is 1 October 2024 to 30 September 2025. FY2026 is open: the SBA file gives approvals to 30 Jun 2026.
| Fiscal year | Approvals | Dollars approved | Average approval | 504 approvals | Jobs supported, as reported |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2026, open | 2 | - | - | 0 | 30 |
| FY2025 | 3 | $7.2M | $2.4M | 0 | 217 |
| FY2024 | 0 | - | - | 0 | 0 |
| FY2023 | 2 | - | - | 0 | 72 |
| FY2022 | 1 | - | - | 0 | 130 |
| FY2021 | 5 | $5.8M | $1.2M | 4 | 109 |
| FY2020 | 1 | - | - | 0 | 10 |
| FY2019 | 1 | - | - | 1 | 15 |
| FY2018 | 4 | $3.6M | $907K | 4 | 74 |
| FY2017 | 5 | $5.0M | $991K | 1 | 430 |
| FY2016 | 6 | $7.0M | $1.2M | 2 | 293 |
The SBA file gives the brand as "BOJANGLES", "Bojangles, Bojangles’ Famous Chicken ‘n Biscuits®”, and “Bojangles’ Express". The site adds the codes that SBA uses for one brand name. SBA files some brands under more than one name, so two pages can be about one company. Each fiscal year since FY2010 (CSV)
How earlier loans turned out
Loans approved FY2010 to FY2021The site counts only loans approved five fiscal years ago or more. The figures depend on the years, the places and the sizes of the loans. A loan outcome says nothing about the quality of a brand.
| Loans approved FY2010 to FY2021 | Bojangles | All SBA loans |
|---|---|---|
| Approvals in these years | 48 | 725,496 |
| Cancelled or not disbursed | 2 | 91,827 |
| Disbursed loans | 46 | 633,669 |
| Paid in full | 36 | 471,304 |
| Charged off | 2 | 37,796 |
| Not paid in full and not charged off (SBA does not disclose the status) | 8 | 124,569 |
| Charged off, share of disbursed loans | 4.3% | 6.0% |
| Dollars charged off, share of disbursed dollars | 1.3% | 2.2% |
| Dollars charged off | $584K | $6.20bn |
The share of a year shows only when 30 or more loans of that year were disbursed. What "charged off" means
Lenders and states
FY2021 to FY20256 lenders made the loans of FY2021 to FY2025, in 6 states. 4 approvals are under the 504 program.
| Lender | Approvals | Dollars | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Live Oak Banking CompanyWilmington, NC | 4 | $10.9M | 36.4% |
| Small Business Access Partners, Inc.CDC in Gainesville, GA | 3 | $1.7M | 27.3% |
| TD Bank, National AssociationWilmington, DE | 1 | - | 9.1% |
| Capital Partners Certified Development CompanyCDC in Atlanta, GA | 1 | - | 9.1% |
| Fidelity Deposit and Discount BankDunmore, PA | 1 | - | 9.1% |
| Wallis BankWallis, TX | 1 | - | 9.1% |
| State of the business | Approvals | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Georgia | 4 | 36.4% |
| Texas | 3 | 27.3% |
| New Jersey | 1 | 9.1% |
| Maryland | 1 | 9.1% |
| Pennsylvania | 1 | 9.1% |
| New York | 1 | 9.1% |
| Industry group | Approvals | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Restaurants and Other Eating PlacesNAICS 7225 | 11 | 100.0% |
Loan sizes
FY2021 to FY2025Approvals by size
- $350,001 to $1 million36.4%4
- $1 million to $2 million18.2%2
- Over $2 million45.5%5
Approvals by age of the business
- Existing, more than 2 years old45.5%5
- Startup, loan funds will open the business45.5%5
- Change of ownership9.1%1
Brands in the same industry
Most approvals for Bojangles are in Restaurants and Other Eating Places (NAICS 7225). The list is in the order of the names.
| Brand | Same NAICS level | Approvals since FY2010 | Approvals, FY2021 to FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bahama Buck's Original Shaved Ice Company | Industry group 7225 | 58 | 32 |
| It's Boba Time | Industry group 7225 | 56 | 31 |
| Jake's Wayback Burgers | Industry group 7225 | 56 | 0 |
| Kfc | Industry group 7225 | 56 | 15 |
| McAlister's Deli | Industry group 7225 | 55 | 17 |
| Planet Smoothie | Industry group 7225 | 58 | 18 |
| Pure Green | Industry group 7225 | 56 | 41 |
| The Human Bean | Industry group 7225 | 53 | 31 |
| Wayback Burgers | Industry group 7225 | 53 | 32 |
| Wings Etc. | Industry group 7225 | 55 | 8 |
Watch this brand
The watch list stays in this browser. When an SBA file changes a figure of a watched page, the list shows the change.
Official channels
- SBA Lender MatchThe SBA tool that matches a small business with an SBA-approved lender.
- SBA 7(a) loansThe SBA page about the 7(a) loan program.
- SBA 504 loansThe SBA page about the 504 loan program.
These links open pages of the agencies. The site checked each address on .
Cite this page
SBA Ledger. Bojangles franchise: SBA loans. https://sbaledger.com/franchise/bojangles/
Source: U.S. Small Business Administration, 7(a) and 504 FOIA loan data. The SBA file gives approvals to . The address of this page does not change.
About these figures
The figures are totals of the SBA 7(a) and 504 FOIA loan files. The data date is . SBA updates the files each quarter.
A count is a count of approvals, with the approvals that SBA cancelled later. The five-year window is FY2021 to FY2025. The charge-off share uses loans approved FY2010 to FY2021. SBA lists each loan under the lender that holds it today. The site shows a dollar figure only for three or more approvals. It names no borrower.
Questions
- Which lenders made SBA loans for Bojangles franchises?
- These lenders had the most approvals in FY2021 to FY2025:
- Live Oak Banking Company: 4 approvals
- Small Business Access Partners, Inc.: 3 approvals
- TD Bank, National Association: 1 approval
- Capital Partners Certified Development Company: 1 approval
- Fidelity Deposit and Discount Bank: 1 approval
- In which states did Bojangles franchises get SBA loans?
- These states had the most approvals in FY2021 to FY2025:
- Georgia: 4 approvals
- Texas: 3 approvals
- New Jersey: 1 approval
- Maryland: 1 approval
- Pennsylvania: 1 approval
- Under which names does SBA file this brand?
- The SBA file gives the brand under these names:
- BOJANGLES
- Bojangles, Bojangles’ Famous Chicken ‘n Biscuits®”, and “Bojangles’ Express
- How do the approvals of the brand split between 7(a) and 504?
- From FY2010 to 30 Jun 2026, 29 approvals are under the 7(a) program and 27 are under the 504 program. In FY2021 to FY2025, 7 are under 7(a) and 4 are under 504.